Welcome to the website of the Roman Catholic Parish of The Holy Cross.
The parish was formed in 2013 with the merger of the parishes of St John The Evangelist, The Willows, Kirkham, and St Joseph’s, Wesham.
The original Willows chapel was established in 1809. This was replaced in 1845 by the present church, a magnificent building designed by AWN Pugin, which is Grade II Listed by English Heritage. The Willows has one of the richest post-Reformation histories of all Catholic parishes in Lancashire.
St Joseph’s church was consecrated in 1886, the construction having been funded by The Willows parish and the people of Kirkham and Wesham.
In 2013, Bishop Michael Campbell merged the two parishes, and named the newly formed parish The Holy Cross, after the original mission at Mowbreck Hall, from which both parishes had originated. In this sense, the circle has completed and, today, the faith life of the churches remains vibrant; the Catholic community at the churches of The Willows and St Joseph’s engage in numerous activities that profess a love of God and a desire to practice that love through Christian worship and service to the community.